Everything Everything Nails

Posted on
Everything Everything Nails

This post is subtitled “why you should not apply or clip false nails in the dark.” I hope you can forgive the slightly dodgy picture quality – all my camera equipment is at my partner’s place and I won’t get it back until the weekend. *sob*

In the meantime, I went to see one of my favourite bands last night in Bristol – Everything Everything. I first saw my total favourite band Post War Years as their support act a few years ago. As an aside – the support act last night, Dutch Uncles, were totally amazing and I highly recommend you check them out!

I rushed these nails. I’d been busy doing other stuff all day and I didn’t leave much time to paint my nails. I wanted to do a bright gradient to match my t shirt and despite my haste, I think I did a pretty good job.

DSCN3107_edit

I grabbed the colours I had closest – they turned out to be George Cloudless Sky, Rimmel Tangerine Queen, NYC Magic Earth and a red by George that I can’t remember the name of. I mercilessly sponged a few gradients over a base of Sinful Colors Snow Me White and left it quite rough to match the blurry texture of the t shirt. A couple of accent nails with studs from Roo Beauty and I was done! I topped these off with Seche Vite, in the hope I wouldn’t smudge them while applying.

Unfortunately I didn’t get the chance to stick the nails on until after the first support act had finished. I found myself a small table and hurriedly got on with it. I didn’t have time to properly shape the nails and I sadly didn’t quite manage to match the sizes or get right into my cuticles. But hey, nobody notices that when you’re having a good time, right?

DSCN3098_edit

2013-10-15 20.50.42_edit

Here I am looking superbly cool with my nails and my new geek specs and my purple Prairie Charms star I mentioned yesterday.

I struggle to do anything when my nails are this long, so I’d remembered to bring my clippers along to trim one hand down to size. Unfortunately I did this in the dark just as Dutch Uncles were starting and I couldn’t really see what I was doing… so my left hand is looking a little bit sorry. (Slightly ashamed to show you this picture, but I’m nothing if not honest.)

DSCN3093_edit

I shall definitely know better for next time – leave time to finish nails, trim and shape properly and apply with decent light.

That all said, I’m enjoying the freedom I get from wearing false nails – I feel a little bit less conscious that my natural nails are odd shapes and really small. And even if you call it a cop out, it is WAY easier to paint false nails. You guys all know that I can apply nail art to my own hands, so I’ve got nothing to prove, right?

The t shirt by the way, says MY KZ UR BF. It’s a bit random, but is a reference to this song:

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

