December Gig Nails: Gothic Christmas

December Gig Nails: Gothic Christmas

Please vote for this design in Grazia’s Manicure Monday competition!

On Saturday night my band played at The Coach House in Paignton. A handwritten sign on the jukebox read “The management has the right to reject all Christmas songs at all times.” I was glad I decided to go with these slightly understated Christmas nails instead of something a bit more obviously festive!

december-2013-gig-nails-christmas-gothic-orly-star-spangled-gold-black (1)

Personally I think it’s a little bit early for Christmas, but as this was my only gig for this month I wanted to make a small nod towards the celebration. I asked Twitter for a bit of guidance and the answer was unanimous – glitter and black. So I created this fabulous design incorporating spindly snowflakes and dark green Christmas trees.

december-2013-gig-nails-christmas-gothic-orly-star-spangled-gold-black (2)

december-2013-gig-nails-christmas-gothic-orly-star-spangled-gold-black (4)

I used several polishes. I based the design around Orly Star Spangled, which I mentioned on Sunday. I added accent nails of Claire’s Accessories gold, and OPI Gold Shatter over Models Own Obsidian. The Christmas trees were dotted on using Models Own Obsidian and Absinthe. Details were added using Primark nail art pens in black and white, and Tara’s Talons First Place. The gems all came with the Primark nail art pens. I like these so much I recently bought a few more!

december-2013-gig-nails-christmas-gothic-orly-star-spangled-gold-black

december-2013-gig-nails-christmas-gothic-orly-star-spangled-gold-black (6)

december-2013-gig-nails-christmas-gothic-orly-star-spangled-gold-black (7)

I find that OPI Shatter polishes are a bit hit and miss at times, and the gold one that I own especially so, but when I layered it over Obsidian, despite using very little polish it barely budged! I had to come up with an emergency design to go over the top! I’m a bit disappointed about that, but Gold Shatter is such a lovely, lovely shimmering gold polish that I guess I can’t be too mad.

This is also the first time I’ve worn pointed rather than square falsies. What do you think?

december-2013-gig-nails-christmas-gothic-orly-star-spangled-gold-black (3)

december-2013-gig-nails-christmas-gothic-orly-star-spangled-gold-black (8)

december-2013-gig-nails-christmas-gothic-orly-star-spangled-gold-black (5)

2 responses »

  1. I had to giggle at “slightly understated Christmas nails” – girl, those things are hot! I bet they lit up under the stage lights!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

