Nail-Art-A-Go-Go Challenge Day 6: Neon

Posted on
Nail-Art-A-Go-Go Challenge Day 6: Neon

You’re gonna like this one. This one is reeeeally good.

Feb_NAGG_00032

Didn’t I say you’d like this? Isn’t it beautiful?

I don’t really own neon polishes. (At least, not until Models Own Half Price Sale happened.) But I do have some gorgeous bright colours. I painted a white base of Barbara Daly Snow to make them really pop. Then I sponged on a gradient of Rimmel Exotic Green, Rimmel Pop Your Pink and Missguided Missmatch (I think this was a present from my sister. Truth it, I have no idea how this orange polish ended up in my collection).

Then I started having fun. I recently discovered Nail Vinyls. I’ve tried to find decent zigzag scissors, I have, but they don’t seem to agree with me. Nail Vinyls are an altogether easier way of getting around the faff of trying to cut out chevrons. Just choose your shape, pop a couple on your nail, paint your top colour (mine is Nails Inc New York Noir) and peel them off and la voila! No fuss. Just pure awesome.

Feb_NAGG_00035

Feb_NAGG_00034

I couldn’t decide between the single chevrons, the chevrons or these cool candy explosions that sadly aren’t available any more. So I went for one of each and then used striping tape for the other two nails. The candy swirl didn’t come out as nicely as I’d have liked. I blame lack of practice. It was a bit of a faff to get the sides to stay down. But the chevrons were great. One tip – topcoat your gradient before you apply the vinyls, I found they pulled a bit of my polish off when I peeled them off because I didn’t.

These are so much fun!

Feb_NAGG_00033

Feb_NAGG_00036

Check out the other Neon manicures posted today!

Tomorrow’s prompt is Primary.

nail-art-a-go-go-challenge-prompts

One response »

Leave a Reply

