Nails on Show: South West Blog Social 2014

Posted on
Nails on Show: South West Blog Social 2014

Warning: this post is VERY picture heavy!

When I heard that Jodie and Albertine were organising a blog social for the South West I was thrilled – I really enjoyed the social I went to last year. Alas, I was the only nail blogger at that event, so I contacted Jodie and asked if I could run a Nail Art Station. The idea was to bring along some polish and some bling and show people what our glorious little world is all about. I recruited help from She Sells Seashells, who sent me some fabulous supplies to play with, and Bita from B-Nails gave me a hefty discount on her fabulous wraps, for those less keen on making their own art. I brought along a decent selection of polishes and my own little trinkets and I set up next to deLush Cosmetics Studio, who were already busy doing Jodie’s make up when I arrived.

SWBlogSocial-005-watermark

All the essentials: polish, brushes, striping tape, nail wheels, nail files, dried flowers…

10422965_257272894479121_2347938463561238515_n

Pots of glitter, wheels of studs, gems and a few bags of other bits (Photo courtesy of South West Blog Social facebook page)

SWBlogSocial-007-watermark

B-Nails Wraps, ready to go

I brought the polish and the bling but people were reluctant to try out their own nail art! Instead I spent the day painting people’s nails. Alice from One Nail To Rule Them All kindly allowed me to take along some of her tutorials and I added a few pages of my own tips and tricks and this was to form a sort of menu of ideas for ladies to choose from.

SWBlogSocial-006-watermark

Inspiration boards (and a few She Sells Seashells vinyls hiding at the back there!)

It might not have been quite what I’d intended to do, but it was AWESOME! I had so much fun and really enjoyed chatting to the girls, who come from all different places around the South West – Exeter and Cornwall and Weston-Super-Mare amongst others. There were fashion bloggers and beauty bloggers and mummy bloggers and lifestyle bloggers and a mix of all of the aforementioned. One lady waited over 3 hours to have me paint her nails! Once people realised I was there, there was a queue all afternoon! The event finished at 6, and I finally packed up my stuff and left The Oddfellows just after 8pm. The staff kept coming over to look at what I was doing. :p

Check out some of the finished designs below, as well as some action shots that my partner took later in the afternoon (he was there doing portrait photographs, check out the gallery at NSPhotos if you’re trying to find yours). If you want to see all of the designs then I’ve uploaded them over at my Facebook page.

And what of my nails? I did a kitchen sink mani showcasing as many different design techniques as I could. Unfortunately, I forgot to take a picture of both hands before I started the day, and after 8 hours of nail polish remover and acetone my right hand was totally ruined! I’m going to recreate it so I can show you – it included a steampunk nail and I was really pleased! Here’s my left hand though:

SWBlogSocial-009-watermark

There are loads of polishes in there: Models Own Speckled Egg, Models Own Polish For Tans, Maybelline Bleached Neons, Barry M Gelly and Maybelline Acid Wash. If you want the specific colours let me know and I’ll look them up. The studs are from Born Pretty Store – I’ve just had a packet with fab designs on them and I can’t wait to do some more art and show them off for you!

All in all I had an amazing day. I’ve been grinning from ear to ear ever since. I’ve had so many fantastic compliments from the day and they’re still rolling in. If I didn’t get to paint your nails, I’m sorry – I wish I could have done everyone’s! It was just brilliant to be able to share this obsession of mine with other people for a change! I can’t wait for my next opportunity to do this again.

I’ve got some posts to come showing you a bit more from She Sells Seashells and B-Nails, who didn’t get as much attention as they deserved on the day. And I’ve come away with loads of inspiration for nail art – I’m even planning a few tutorials!

Of course, I was so busy that I didn’t get to experience anything else about the day – there were people doing hair, and representatives from a few clothes companies such as Quiz, and there were cocktails and a raffle and workshops about really interesting subjects like How to Monetise Your Blog and How To Create Unique Content. But I understand that was all great. We also got a goody bag, which included some fab stuff – not just beauty products but jewellery too. A massive, massive thank you to Jodie and Albertine for organising such an awesome event and for letting me be involved. I really hope there’ll be another one!

4609647232_395x395

5 responses »

  1. What a cool and fun sounding event! I love that chevron nail!

    Reply
  2. wicked monkey, wicked!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

