Lily Allen Week: The Saint Laurent Dress

Posted on
Lily Allen Week: The Saint Laurent Dress

Every now and again I like a project. I also like to go through magazines and cut out pictures for inspiration. When Lily Allen was on the cover of Glamour Magazine in June I got both! Every day this week I’ll be posting a design based on Lily Allen’s fab shoot for that issue. You can find the whole shoot here if you’d like to see the outfits in all their glory!

Today I present the dress from the cover: this fabulous floaty coral number by Saint Laurent.

Lily Allen Saint Laurent Composite

This was one of the simplest designs from the shoot and also one of my favourite! I started with a base of Models Own Coral Glaze from their Hypergel line, and I drew on the rectangles using a Barry M black Nail Art Pen. It’s all coated with Ciaté Speed Coat, which unfortunately smeared the nail pen a little bit – I think I should have been a bit more patient and waited til it was more dry! (That said, it’s usually fine and doesn’t smear at all.)

lily-allen-glamour-magazine-inspired-coral-models-own-hypergel-nails (4)

lily-allen-glamour-magazine-inspired-coral-models-own-hypergel-nails (3)

I’m not really sure what else to say about this post. I wore these nails when I gigged in July and this is a design I’d definitely try again! It’s so striking! What do you think?

lily-allen-glamour-magazine-inspired-coral-models-own-hypergel-nails

lily-allen-glamour-magazine-inspired-coral-models-own-hypergel-nails (2)

9 responses »

  1. I love the dress and the nailart even more!

    Reply
  2. these are so cool! great job 😀 xx

    Reply
  3. Love this retro-looking nail art! Definitely one I could give a go (and probably not mess up tooo much) x

    Reply
    • If you use the Barry M nail art pen it’s super simple! Just like doodling on a notebook. :p (And I haven’t forgotten that I promised tutorials using the She Sells Seashells bits and pieces, I’m just waaay behind!)

      Reply
  4. This is such a cool idea! I love the nails too 🙂

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Lily Allen Week: Theyskens’ Theory Knit | Monkey Nail Art

Leave a Reply

