31 Day Challenge 2014 Day 16: Geometric

31 Day Challenge 2014 Day 16: Geometric

We’re over halfway there! And we get a new prompt!

My design for today feels both spurious and not well executed. I nearly trashed it and started again. The trouble is, once you’ve spent ages on something you just want to post it anyway – this challenge is so fast that there isn’t too much room for perfectionism!

31-day-challenge-day-16-geometric-barry-m-autumnJPG (1)

Where do I start? My woes began when I decided I wanted to do something “different.” There are only so many ways to do a design with straight lines in it, so I went looking for something a bit more interesting. I found a couple of pins that I really liked and decide to combine them.

The two plainer nails were simple – Barry M Lychee, then striping tape for three triangles and I filled them out with the new Barry M Gelly colours – Cardamom, Chilli and Mustard. These were inspired by this pin.

31-day-challenge-day-16-geometric-barry-m-autumnJPG (5)

31-day-challenge-day-16-geometric-barry-m-autumnJPG (2)

The other nails were more difficult. I really loved this pin from the Nail Polish Project and it looked like it wouldn’t be too difficult. I decided to make decals and I used the same three Barry M colours and MoYou London Stamping plates Pro XL 01, Sailor 07 and Explorer 24 for the designs. When they were dry I cut them out and tried to stick them on. This was problematic. Looking at the original, I think it was all stamped straight on and the other areas were taped off but me and Scotch tape just don’t get on. However, I must concede that twice now I’ve tried decals that just didn’t want to work. *cries*

31-day-challenge-day-16-geometric-barry-m-autumnJPG (6)

31-day-challenge-day-16-geometric-barry-m-autumnJPG (4)

Overall, I know these look pretty good. But I’ve been doing this for a while now and I’d really like to be better! What do you think?

31-day-challenge-day-16-geometric-barry-m-autumnJPG (3)

The theme tomorrow is Glitter! See you then!

chalkboard-nails-31-day-challenge-2014-soft-chic

One response »

  1. Pingback: 31 Day Challenge 2015 Day 4: Green | Monkey Nail Art

Leave a comment